Bangladesh Series Win in a Thrilling Match Against India

Bangladesh Series Win in Thrilling Match Against India
Bangladesh Series Win in Thrilling Match Against India

After winning the historical series in 2015 seven years ago, Bangladesh defeated India for the second time. In the three-match ODI series, the red-green army won the series with one match in hand.

The Tigers secured the series win by defeating India by five runs in the second ODI. Playing for a target of 272 runs, Rohit-Kohli scored 266 runs after losing 9 wickets in the allotted overs.

The Tigers won the toss and went into bat in the second one-dayer of the three-match series at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Wednesday, losing 7 wickets and collecting 271 runs.

Anamul Haque Vijay seemed to be in rhythm with the bat. Flicked, and played a cover drive by Drishtanandan. But after hitting two consecutive boundaries, he returned to the dressing room. Vijay could not put Mohammad Siraj’s ball on the bat. The umpire responded with the appeal. Bangladesh takes review but to no avail. In the beginning, the host camp lost the review along with the wicket. 11 runs off 9 balls from Anamul’s bat.

After losing the wicket in the second over, Bangladesh tried to turn around with Liton-Shanto batting. But Mohammad Siraj struck again in the Tiger camp. This time Liton is directly bowled. Lytton was out for 7 runs off 23 balls. Then Umran Malik’s ball, which came at 151 kmph, ripped Shanto’s off-stump. After Liton, Shanto showed the possibility of a good inning with Shakib. His innings stopped at 21 runs. His innings of 35 balls were decorated with 3 fours.

Shakib Al Hasan could not increase his innings. He averaged the timing while sweeping the ball slog from Washington Sundar. The ball goes up behind the wicket. Easy catch by Shikhar Dhawan. 8 runs from 20 balls came from his bat.

After Shakib, Mushfiqur also could not play with responsibility. Mushfiq wanted to defend Sundar’s ball. The ball hits Dhawan’s glove. If the umpire does not give out, India takes a review. Mushfiq scored 12 runs off 24 balls. Afif bowled the next ball. He returned with zero runs in the first ball. Bangladesh lost 6 wickets for 69 runs.

Miraj and Mahmudullah Riyad took the lead of the team after that. Bangladesh has turned around by relying on their batting. In the end, their pair stopped at 148 runs. Mahmudullah, who was outside-edged by Umran, dived to his right and took a great catch from the Indian acting captain. Mahmudullah returns with 77 runs off 96 balls.

Later Nasum Ahmed came down and gave good company to Miraj. Standing in the rubble, Mirage scored a great century. The remarkable innings remained unbeaten at the end. His innings were composed of 8 fours and 4 sixes off 83 balls. This is the highest innings in his ODI career. Earlier, his career-best innings was 81 against Afghanistan last February. And Nasum Ahmed was unbeaten with 18 runs off 11 balls.

For India, Washington Sundar took three wickets, and Umran Malik, and Mohammed Siraj took two wickets each

Bangladesh Series Win in Thrilling Match Against India
Bangladesh Series Win in Thrilling Match Against India

In response, Lokesh Rahul and Virat Kohli came to open the innings in place of Rohit Sharma who was injured while fielding for India. Kohli hits a four off the first ball. Ebadat Hossain sent him back to the dugout on the fifth ball of the second over. Kohli scored 5 runs off 6 balls and 1 four.

Bangladesh took another wicket in the next over. This time Mustafiz returned Shekhar Dhawan for 8 runs. He caught the hand of Miraj who was standing at the point. After Lokesh Rahul and Washington Sundar returned, India lost four wickets for 65 runs.

Shreyas Iyer and Akshar Patel tried to turn the team around from there. Both scored half-centuries. Both made a pair of 107 runs. Mehdi Hasan Miraj is the light of hope for Bangladesh. Iyer wanted to float him in the sky and play. But he was caught by Afif Hussain at deep mid-wicket from Miraj. Iyer scored 82 runs off 102 balls.

Read More: Portugal Confirmed The Quarter-Finals by Defeating Switzerland

Akshar Patel also returned to Sajghar after a while. This time he came to the bowling and took the wicket. Akshar, who scored 56 runs off 56 balls, was caught by Shakib Al Hasan. Later, after Shardul Thakur was dismissed for 7 and Deepak Chahar for 11 runs, Bangladesh’s chances of winning increased.

However, the injured Rohit Sharma came into bat as the number 9 batsman. Ebadat Hossain and Anamul Haque Vijay missed his two catches in quick succession. Then Rohit sealed the match with a batting storm. Indian captain could not win the team after scoring 51 runs in 28 balls with 3 fours and 5 sixes. But take the match to the last ball.

For Bangladesh, Ebadat Hossain took three wickets, and Mehdi Hasan Miraj and Shakib Al Hasan took two wickets each. Besides, Mustafizur Rahman and Mahmudullah took one wicket each.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top