Bangladesh Captain Liton Das in ODI Series Against India

Bangladesh captain Liton Das in ODI series against India
Bangladesh captain Liton Das in ODI series against India

After 7 long years, the Indian national cricket team has come to Bangladesh to play a bilateral series. Team India arrived at the Shahjalal International Airport on Thursday (December 1) evening. India will play three ODIs and two Tests in this tour with a full-strength team led by Rohit Sharma.

BCB announced the squad for the three-match ODI series against India with Liton Das as the captain. Regular captain Tamim Iqbal has been ruled out of the ODI series due to injury. In his absence, Lytton has been appointed. However, no one was selected to replace Tamim. BCB informed this in a press release today.

Before this, Liton led the national team in T20 cricket. During the 2021 tour of New Zealand, he captained one match when regular captain Mahmudullah was injured.

Liton will make his debut as a captain in ODI cricket with the first ODI of the three-match series on December 4. He is going to be the 15th ODI captain of Bangladesh.

Lytton is also part of the Test team’s ‘Leadership’ group. Shakib Al Hasan was given the captaincy of the Test team, as well as Lytton, was made the vice-captain. However, there was no vice-captain in the ODI team.

Referring to Liton’s leadership, Jalal Yunus, head of BCB’s cricket management department, said in a press release, “Liton is one of the experienced cricketers of the team. He also has leadership qualities. His cricket brain is sharp enough and can read the game well.’

Not having Tamim in an important series like India is also a loss for the team. Jalal Younus said in this regard, ‘Unfortunately we are not getting Tamim in this series due to injury. The team has been doing well in the last two years under his leadership. He is also one of the best batsmen of Bangladesh in this edition. I will feel his emptiness. I also think that Liton will do well as a captain.

Taskin Ahmed is also not playing the first match of the ODI series due to injury. However, Taskin has been kept in the ODI team. However, due to concerns about Taskin, another pacer Shariful Islam has been kept in the ODI team.

Bangladesh Team:

Liton Das (captain), Enamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Mostafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ibadat Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah, Nazmul Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Shariful . Islam

Bangladesh-India Series Full Schedule:

ODI Series Schedule:

First ODI: December 4, Sunday (Mirpur)

Second ODI: December 7, Wednesday (Mirpur)

Third ODI: December 10, Saturday (Mirpur)

Test Series Schedule:

India-Bangladesh Test Series Schedule: –

First Test: December 14-18 (Chittagong)

Second Test: 22-26 December (Mirpur)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top